Canada Basketball is pleased to announced the athletes on the Development Women’s National Team (DWNT) who will represent Canada at the 2013 FISU Summer Universiade in Kazan, Russia. The team consisting of student-athletes from across the nation will proudly wear the Red and White at the largest sporting competition outside of the Olympics.

Head coach Fabian McKenzie looks forward to the upcoming international competition. "We have a diverse group of young athletes from all corners of the country who have become a cohesive unit and are working very hard to represent Canada in a first-class manner. The coaching staff and the student-athletes are very excited about competing and testing ourselves against the best university-aged athletes in the world in Russia. This is another tremendous international growth opportunity for our athletes on their development path within the Women's National Team Program"

The DWNT will play in a series of scrimmages in Kazan in advance of the 27th FISU Summer Universiade beginning. Also known as the World University Games, the competition will open with Team Canada matching-up against Japan on Monday, July 8. The quarter-finals will begin on Friday, July 12 with the semifinals the day after. One team of students will be crowned champions on the evening of Monday, July 15.

2013 Development Women’s National Team

No. Name Position Height Hometown
5 Dianna Ros Guard 5-7 Montreal, Que.
6 Miah-Marie Langlois Guard 5-8 Windsor, Ont.
7 Korissa Williams Guard 5-9 Amherstburg, Ont.
8 Kristjana Young Guard 6-0 North Vancouver, B.C.
9 Rachelle Coward Guard 6-0 Dartmouth, N.S.
10 Erin Chambers Guard/Forward 6-1 Mission, B.C.
11 Kara Spotton Forward 6-2 Fort Collins, Colo.
12 Lindsay Ledingham Forward 6-0 Regina, Sask.
13 Taijah Campbell Post 6-3 Ajax, Ont.
14 Tessa Kreiger Post 6-4 London, Ont.
15 Dalyce Emmerson Post/Forward 6-3 Prince Albert, Sask.

2013 FISU Summer Universiade – Preliminary Round Schedule

Date Opponent Time (ET)
Monday, July 8 Japan 2:00 a.m.
Tuesday, July 9 Ukraine 2:00 a.m.
Wednesday, July 10 Taipei 12:30 p.m.